Header Ads Widget



Euro 2020 Format and Past Winners


The actual Euro 2020 tournament itself will not have a host country so no team automatically qualifies. Instead, it will be held over 12 different cities spanning over Europe.

The chosen cities are:

Olympic Stadium: Baku, Azerbaijan (Group stage and quarter-finals)

Allianz Arena: Munich, Germany (Group stage and quarter-finals)

Stadio Olimpico: Rome, Italy (Group stage and quarter-finals)

Krestovsky Stadium: Saint Petersburg, Russia (Group stage and quarter-finals)

Parken Stadium: Copenhagen, Denmark (Group stage and round of 16)

Puskás Aréna: Budapest, Hungary (Group stage and round of 16)

Johan Cruyff Arena: Amsterdam, Netherlands (Group stage and round of 16)

Aviva Stadium: Dublin, Republic of Ireland (Group stage and round of 16)

Arena Națională: Bucharest, Romania (Group stage and round of 16)

Hampden Park: Glasgow, Scotland (Group stage and round of 16)

San Mamés: Bilbao, Spain (Group stage and round of 16)

Wembley Stadium: London, England (Semi-finals and final)

At the Euro 2020 tournament, there are two groups of four teams and four groups of three teams totalling twenty teams. The top two from each group will advance to the knockout stages.

Of the teams finishing in third place, the best four based on points will also advance.

Here are the past ten winners of the European Championships:

Year Winners Runners-up Location

2016 Portugal France Saint-Denis, France

2012 Spain Italy Kiev, Ukraine

2008 Spain Germany Vienna, Austria

2004 Greece Portugal Lisbon, Portugal

2000 France Italy Rotterdam, Netherlands

1996 Germany Czech Republic London, England

1992 Denmark Germany Gothenburg, Sweden

1988 Netherlands Soviet Union Munich, West Germany

1984 France Spain Paris, France

1980 West Germany Belgium Rome, Italy

Post a Comment